Kitchen Party: Sour Cream Pesto Drumsticks & Potato Almond Green Bean Salad

The best thing about home cooking is the aroma of food filling up the house. This meal is sure to make you feel comfort as the fall creeps up on us and we get ready to spend more time indoors.

I haven’t been cooking meat much lately, but last week Fiesta Farms had good deals on chicken, and everything they sell there is delicious, so I stocked up! The drumsticks I bought were plump and meaty, and I’ve always thought that drumsticks taste so good baked slow, so I hit the kitchen with that in mind.

I generally marinate chicken in yogourt, but having none in the fridge, I decided to try it out with sour cream. In a deep mixing bowl, I laid out the 5 drumsticks, and rubbed in the following:

3 minced garlic cloves
2 tbsp of sour cream
1 tbsp of red pepper vinegarette
2 tbsp of basil pesto
peach hot sauce (or any other hot sauce), to your liking
salt, pepper & cayenne, to your liking
lemon juice, to your liking

It’s best to let it marinate for a couple of hours or even overnight to tenderize the meat, but hungry as I was, I went ahead and baked it 350c for about 1 hour and 15 minutes (all depending on how crispy you like it and how powerful your oven is!).

In the meantime, I started preparing the side. I wanted veggies but I was also in the mood for cooked hearty food, so I decided on a warm potato salad. Mostly though, I wanted to use the green beans I had bought. I cut the tips off of 15 long green beans and split them in half, added in 2 small potatoes that I cubed, and chopped in half an onion. I minced about 10 dried almonds and added them to the mix. I seasoned it lightly, and then added in 1-2 spoons of olive oil and 2 tsp of dijon mustard. After I mixed it well, I spread it on a baking sheet and gave the chicken an oven friend.

If the salad prep takes about 15-20 minutes, these two should be ready to devour around the same time.

Location: Your kitchen or mine
Damage: I used a lot of what I already have, but if you had to buy everything from scratch, I’d say less than 25$ for up to 4 people
Rating: 8.5 pies out of ten (room for improvement: no onion in the salad, and maybe something sweet with either the salad or the chicken, say cranberries?)
Soundtrack: Little Dragon’s self-titled (and first) album, and covers like this one

Leave a Reply

